ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

81st Annual General Meeting of Duffield Squash and Racketball Club will be held at the Club on Tuesday, 18th September 2018 at 7.00pm

AGENDA

Attendees: Mike Taylor, Russell Moore, Bob Allen, Nigel Stone, Sheila Alcock, Jackie Bryan, Chris Alcock, Gill Ford, Grenville Holt, Diane Rodgers, Leslie Sturgess, Geoff Atkins, Frank Burke, Sarah Parkman, Glenn Wicks, Dave May, George McMain, Shirley McMain, John Nicholls, Dori Nicholls, Pete Dyson, Brain Legg, Brian Hargrave, Chris Coe, Andy Winfield, Neil Nightingale, Steve Grainger, Richard Vasey, Bob Macara.

- 1. APOLOGIES: Janet Horsley, Roy & Margaret Squires, Phil Harrison, Liz Thompson, Dean Gregory.
- 2. MINUTES of the previous AGM held on 19th September 2017:

These were accepted as a true record and there were no matters arising. Adoption proposed by Bob Allen and Seconded by Glenn Wickes.

3. ANNUAL REPORT

The chairman summarized the published annual report distributed prir to the meeting, including: Community Association Sports Club registration, expressing thanks to Nigel Stone and Chris Hubbard respective Squash and Tennis Club Secretaries, and Andy Lyon and the team at Ashgates for their professional advice and support. Thanks to Team players captains and coaches, the Committee, Phill Harrison and the House team, Pete Dyson Nick Seargent Mike Robinson Brian Legg and Bob Allen, Treasurer Bob Allen and his assistant Jackie Bryan, Bar Managers George McMain & Adrian Shepherd for their hard work, Gym – Grenville Holt and the sub-committee for their efforts in upgrading the Gym, Steve Milward for his work maintaining the courts, Vic Malysc for his work on the sound and vision systems within the club, the Social Committee for organising the various Social Events, such an important link between both clubs, Gill Ford for looking after the Events Calendar, and organising and assisting with the running of tournaments, and Sheila Alcock for so efficiently dealing with Membership.

Thanks to Vic Malysz and Leslie Sturgess for the Competitions and finals evening, which again was a great success and Stuart MacLean for arranging the Beer Festival.

Additional thanks to Olly Lowe for his assistance in coaching and congratulations on achieving on his Level 2 Coaching badge. Thanks to Felix and Dean for their work with the Junior Academy. Further congratulations to Leslie Sturgess and Millie Tomlinson for achievements on court.

Finally thanks to President Russell Moore for all his input, and Nigel Stone for the Club Secretary duties, including the compilation of the Annual Report.

4. FINANCIAL REPORT

- Balance sheet and Profit and Loss account had been distributed by e-mai prior to the meetingl. BA summarised his Report beginning with the fact that profits were larger than expected, mainly due to the efforts of the Bar managers and the changes they have introduced effectively now running the Bar on a "Free House" basis. Also contributing were lower costs than expected on Gym upgrade but this may be spent at a later date. PD asked why there was a substantial increase in the Levy paid to England Squash, BA explained that this is due to a combination of increased levy and reallocation of team entry fees into this expenditure stream. Also it should be noted the levy has increased again for this year. It was confirmed that the levy is paid for players competing in teams and/or sanctioned tournaments and events. BA also pointed out the fact that the Club need to consider the implications of the approaching VAT threshold of £85,000 turnover and various options are being considered to ensure this threshold is legitimately not exceeded. A VAT impact assessment is being prepared. Accounts adoption proposed by Brian Legg and Seconded by Pete Dyson

5. ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND COMMITTEE

 Nominations in writing to reach the Secretary at least seven days prior to the meeting. No proposals or resignations were received so it was proposed that the current Committee continue. Proposed by Geoff Atkins and seconded by Shirley McMain.

6. PRESENTATIONS

Roy Squires Club Player of the Season Award - Matt Dalton. Matt has been a member of this club for 3 years now. He has improved year on year but more noticeably this season. Matt has risen up through the internal leagues and has been a reliable 3rd team player all Summer having won 10/10 matches for his team.

Thompson Salver – RM stressed that the award is made to the person considered to be making the greatest contribution to the Club with preference being given to those doing so on a voluntary basis, rather than drawing an honorarium. Mention goes to Vic Malysz for not just the works undertaken on upgrading the sound and vision equipment, but the adoption of GDPR and the maintenance of the Club website. Thanks also to Sarah Parkman for her work on the Safeguarding Policy. Grenville holt for his work for the Gym and reforming and heading the Gym Sub-Committee, finally Mike Taylor the Chairman for all his many works. Also thanks for all his work to Bob Allen not just for his Treasurer role but also for all the other work he does. Two people were considered this year, with the person not winning not being named as they may be considered for the award next year. This year's winner is Pete Dyson. PD gave a short acceptance speech saying how surprised he was to receive the award and to thank the other members of the House team who all work so hard alongside himself

Please note the following award presentations will now be held on Club Finals Night

- The Barrie Anderson Junior Award.
- The Ager Family Junior Merit Award.
- The Roy Squires Club player of the year award whilst awarded at this year's AGM will in future be awarded on Club finals night.

7. ANY OTHER BUSINESS

MT received a request that the club investigates contactless payments for the bar. Preliminary investigations towards this have already started and there are a number of benefits as well as some costs. It was agreed that this will be investigated further with a view to implementation.

A request was made to send abridged copies of the minutes to members via email. It was suggested that it may be a better option to post these on the website instead. It was agreed that the minutes of Committee meeting would be made available to members by one of the means mentioned.

The Meeting closed at 19:52.